Eatin’ Stuff

There’s no point having a bad meal while you’re in town. We’ve got you covered on Saturday night but if you’re looking for food on Friday night, lunch on Saturday, or anytime on Sunday, here are some ideas:

Chinatown – If you’re staying at the Holiday Inn, Chinatown is 6 blocks west on Arch Street. There are tons of restaurants but here are some favorites:
Vietnam – Sharp looking place with top quality food and a bar (a rarity in Chinatown): http://www.yelp.com/biz/vietnam-restaurant-philadelphia
Kingdom of Vegetarians – Good vegetarian/fake meat spot, New Harmony and Singapore are other similar places: http://www.yelp.com/biz/kingdom-of-vegetarians-restaurant-philadelphia
Shiao Lan Kung – One of the better Chinese places in the hood: http://www.yelp.com/biz/shiao-lan-kung-philadelphia

Old City – Walk south on 4th toward Market, then east on Market toward the river
Zahav – Top flight middle eastern/Israeli food, cocktails: http://www.yelp.com/biz/zahav-philadelphia
Fork – Another well-regarded dinner place: http://www.yelp.com/biz/fork-philadelphia-3
Khyber – A hole in the wall but if you love good beer and jukeboxes …: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-khyber-philadelphia
Sassafras – Nicer place for a good drink/beer: http://www.yelp.com/biz/sassafras-international-cafe-philadelphia

Center City East – Walk south on 4th past Market then west on Chestnut
Chifa – Exciting Peruvian/Chinese food: http://www.yelp.com/biz/chifa-philadelphia
Morimoto – Japanese fine dining from the Iron Chef: http://www.yelp.com/biz/morimoto-philadelphia

South Street/Headhouse Square – Walk south on 4th past Market, east on Lombard
Xochitl – Top quality Mexican: http://www.yelp.com/biz/xochitl-philadelphia
Las Bugambilias – Ditto: http://www.yelp.com/biz/las-bugambilias-philadelphia
Pizzeria Stella: http://www.yelp.com/biz/pizzeria-stella-philadelphia
Beau Monde – Crepes!: http://www.yelp.com/biz/beau-monde-philadelphia
Maoz – Great falafel for lunch or a quick dinner: http://www.yelp.com/biz/maoz-vegetarian-philadelphia-2

Northern Liberties – Cab or 57 bus up 3rd Street, close to both the wedding and variety show venues
700 Club – One of our favorite bars, great beer and cocktails : http://www.yelp.com/biz/700-club-philadelphia
Standard Tap – More great beer, but great food, as well: http://www.yelp.com/biz/standard-tap-philadelphia
El Camino Real – Tex/Mex split menu, margaritas: http://www.yelp.com/biz/el-camino-real-philadelphia
Koo Zee Doo – Great Portuguese food: http://www.yelp.com/biz/koo-zee-doo-philadelphia

This entry was posted in East Coast, North America, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.